Why Blog?

I have a couple of reasons I blog. First and foremost, I’m a wordy girl. Blogging allows me to keep talking even when no one is listening. And apparently, I think what I have to say is pretty darn important, so much so that I publish my random thoughts in hope someone out there will read them. In my rambling, however, I manage to also use it as an organizational tool for all the fluff going on in my head. I have lots of ideas, some helpful, some not so helpful. If I don’t write them down, often they’ll just go away. This way, I get to organize all the multiple things going on in my head.
Secondly, it really does help me with metacognition. I think about my thinking. Paradoxical? I dunno, I guess, but it really works for me. I have strong opinions, usually based on pre-programmed ways of thinking. It helps me actually digest what I think and truly understand what is driving my thought process. It surprising how much ego-based thinking I have (although my husband would beg to differ). What’s even better is I get to see and change that thinking when I do blog.  Once I get out my thoughts, I can rearrange the mess and I can start to see where the ideas and beliefs originated. So, after all that above, I feel blogging makes me a better person. I’m good with that.

What about you? Why would you blog? How could it help you? Lots of educators are blogging nowadays. It’s great to see teachers using technology to have a platform. Many of us claim we lack the time, the resources, or ingenuity. All to which I say, “NAY”! There are far many smarter peers than myself who could be using a blog to spread their educators’ voice. If we want things to change, if we want people to hear what educators need/want/desire, we must let people know instead of letting lawmakers (who generally have NO EDUCATIONAL background whatsoever) continue making uneducated guesses and rules about our profession. The easiest way, IMO, is to put your voice out in a public forum. Show people what good you are doing. Toot your own darn horn, because if you don’t, who else will?